Jazz 4 The Holidaze ~ Poet’s Beat ~ Jazz Fan Looks Back by Jayne Cortez featuring Ella Fitzgerald’s~ The Secret of Christmas

Texture Absttact Jazz Art Paintings Courtesy of bits-r-us-dot-net
Texture Absttact Jazz Art Paintings Courtesy of bits-r-us-dot-net

Jazz music is America’s past and its potential, summed up and sanctified and accessible to anybody who learns to listen to, feel, and understand it. The music can connect us to our earlier selves and to our better selves-to-come. It can remind us of where we fit on the time line of human achievement, an ultimate value of art. ~ Winton Marsalis

The holidays are just around the corner and I am reveling in my wish to dance with my father again.  With that comes a reflective time to review my life and the health challenges I have been facing and looking back as Jayne has in this poem.  It brings to mind all of the Christmases in LA and New York filled with east-west wonder.  More importantly at the end of the day, I remember my rents always quoting Gershwin Life is a lot like jazz… it’s best when you improvise.  So improvising is just what the doctor ordered.

 

Jazz Fan Looks Back

By

Jayne Cortez

I crisscrossed with Monk
Wailed with Bud
Counted every star with Stitt
Sang “Don’t Blame Me” with Sarah
Wore a flower like Billie
Screamed in the range of Dinah
& scatted “How High the Moon” with Ella Fitzgerald
as she blew roof off the Shrine Auditorium
Jazz at the Philharmonic

I cut my hair into a permanent tam
Made my feet rebellious metronomes
Embedded record needles in paint on paper
Talked bopology talk
Laughed in high-pitched saxophone phrases
Became keeper of every Bird riff
every Lester lick
as Hawk melodicized my ear of infatuated tongues
& Blakey drummed militant messages in
soul of my applauding teeth
& Ray hit bass notes to the last love seat in my bones
I moved in triple time with Max
Grooved high with Diz
Perdidoed with Pettiford
Flew home with Hamp
Shuffled in Dexter’s Deck
Squatty-rooed with Peterson
Dreamed a “52nd Street Theme” with Fats
& scatted “Lady Be Good” with Ella Fitzgerald
as she blew roof off the Shrine Auditorium
Jazz at the Philharmonic

Best wishes 4 the Happiest, Merriest and most of all filled with lotz of love and peace this Holiday Season.  Blessings 2 u and ur family 4 a very Jazz 4 Holidaze Xmas.  Peace and Love Out!  JBC 😎 & >3.

Symbol of Love
Symbol of Love

© Copyright  2011-2016 by Jazzybeatchick/JazZenista/Jannat Marie. All Rights Reserved.

This material is and has been copyrighted.  Feel free to share it with others; it can be distributed via social media or pingbacks and added to websites; please do not change the content, and please provide credit by including the author’s name @ http://jazzybeatchick.com and your readers shall not be charged by you under any circumstance.