The Sound I Felt on a Poet’s Beat ~! What I Have Learned So Far by Mary Oliver ~ “I’m in the Mood for Love” ~ Gil Fuller & Monterey Jazz Festival Orchestra featuring James Moody

BeachResortMonterey Courtesy of Herecomestheguide[dot]com

 

 

What I Have Learned So Far

By Mary Oliver

Meditation is old and honorable, so why should I
not sit, every morning of my life, on the hillside,
looking into the shining world? Because, properly
attended to, delight, as well as havoc, is suggestion.
Can one be passionate about the just, the
ideal, the sublime, and the holy, and yet commit
to no labor in its cause? I don’t think so.

All summations have a beginning, all effect has a
story, all kindness begins with the sown seed.
Thought buds toward radiance. The gospel of
light is the crossroads of — indolence, or action.

Be ignited, or be gone.

 

It has been two weeks since I arrived in California.  I started out around 2 pm from Seattle after finalizing and checking out of my apartment.  My car was packed to the gills with a small space to see out of my rearview mirror.  The housing situation is horrific everywhere.  Homelessness has become such a major concern for American life.  I oftentimes wonder how it has come to this.  It is not bad enough that unemployment, affordable housing and the American Dream are now things that have been lost or redefined over the past decades.  It has gotten so bad that Social Services are buckling under the strain of trying to provide services.  Today I am moving into unknown territory. I no longer look to see what I saw yesterday. And the future is moments away. I am working toward getting a better understanding of the fact that I am not able to change anything, but maybe I can influence it by adopting a positive attitude. It is like moving into a new apartment.  But the drawback is that you have to physically be there in order to secure it.  Everything is new and the neighborhood is different, the people are different and it is just a matter of adjusting to the new environment. I never made the connection with a new day. I realize that this is a fresh start, because what happened yesterday is gone. If I hold onto what happened yesterday, it deprives me from seeing today and all spontaneity is lost. We must trust ourselves to be able to live in the present moment and experience the joy of not knowing what possibilities could be. Nothing is written in stone.  If we continue to rely on past experiences, good, bad or indifferent, that impedes personal growth and expansion. We must become tired of re-living and playing tapes of things that happened in the past because it cannot be rewritten. They are just there and we are the only ones that give memories and thoughts the breath of life in the present moment.  It makes me feel as though I am a prisoner of my own life. So just for today, I am going to see what is new, and when those past thoughts, notions and ideas present themselves I will acknowledge them, but I will not let it affect how I am seeing things today. I am ready to receive and give the love, joy and gratitude that God has given me today. Peace OutMemorial Day is on Monday, May 25th, which was my mother’s birthday and my father died on May 26th so he would not die on her birthday.  This year I am going to celebrate their lives and how they were a positive influence and added meaning to my life.  Memorial Day is no longer a sad and depressing day, it has given me a new sense of purpose and meaning which to that end is what I have learned so far….  Peace & Love Out!  JBC 😎 & ❤

Follow-your-dreams.-They-know-the-way Courtesy of Verybestquotes[dot]com
Follow-your-dreams.-They-know-the-way Courtesy of Verybestquotes[dot]com
© Copyright  2011-2015 by Jazzybeatchick/JazZenista/Jannat Marie. All rights reserved.

This material is and has been copyrighted.  eel free to share it with others; it can be distributed via social media or pingbacks and added to websites; please do not change the content, and please provide credit by including the author’s name @ http://jazzybeatchick.com and your readers shall not be charged by you under any circumstance.

One thought on “The Sound I Felt on a Poet’s Beat ~! What I Have Learned So Far by Mary Oliver ~ “I’m in the Mood for Love” ~ Gil Fuller & Monterey Jazz Festival Orchestra featuring James Moody

Comments are closed.