This speaks to the secret habits of jazz living. Jazz is devoted to the life of expression because it is the tuning fork to find our way to Sacredness.  Peace & Love Out! A good read…

Dr Susan Crowther

Using poetry in research and professional life as an academic in health care practice could be construed as professional suicide. Yet it is a medium that keeps me sane and allows something more deeply felt to filter through. I am in the process of writing an academic journal article about poetry use in research and thought I would air some of my early musings.

When I completed my PhD thesis the final chapter evolved around a final poem that emerged from participants words (see below). It was risky –  however it paid off. That same poem on request from faculty management is now enlarged and lives proudly framed in front of the midwifery school in the faculty buildings. When presenting poems in conferences the audience is often left in a quiet place where I have to confirm to the chair and audience – “I’m finished” so the session can end…

View original post 447 more words