WordPlay Wednesday ~ Letting go thru the Fog of Cancer featuring John Coltrane – Serenity & A Guided Meditation on the Body, Space, and Awareness with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche

Courtesy of Tammy Ransdell
Courtesy of Tammy Ransdell

It is the way you play that makes it…Play like you play, play like you think, and you got it, if you are going to get it.  And whatever you get, that’s you, so that’s your story.”  ~ Count Basie

The message that Jazz continues to flow through my life is that the soul journey that all of us are on is learning how to strike a balance between being present and expressing love and service through our spiritual giftsCount Basie shared those words on “playing” which translated to “living” the fall of 1967 at the Newport Jazz festival when my father took me to  a MJF Orchestra rehearsal for their Saturday night performance.  The Count was onstage sitting at the piano, he motioned for me to come sit next to him on the bench.  I shot a look at my father smiling Go on, he’s family!  At that very moment at the tender age of thirteen feeling I am in an absolute blissful existence, I am an ocean filled with possibilities.  Jazz is a way of collaborating with other souls connecting us to a universal riff that transcends all limitations that is awakening everyone to self discovery and expression in the majesty of God’s gift to our lives. In 2000 Jazz saved my life.  My mother and I were in for the fight of our lives against Breast Cancer. I struggled to desperately to reconnect with my soul.  What had been so sacred to me was lost and I wanted to make peace with my cancer.  I had to let go of what no longer worked for me and find new ways to get back into a flow and reconnect to the journey of the sacred aspects in my life.  I would go to chemotherapy and would play Coltrane, Miles, the Count and Ella, Sarah and of course my dad’s music.  Mark Singer in The Untethered Soul” taught me to experience and allow the cancer to flow.  Don’t fight it but to breathe and accept things as they are.  I remembered that Fall day back in 1967 with Count Basie and became alive surrendering my fears  and loss to find a new current that was flowing with life.  My friends faded away because they didn’t know what to say to me.  I can’t tell you the number of times I wanted to give up.  I listened to Coltrane’s Serenity and became completely present and forgiving.  The transformational power of letting go by listening to jazz was shear Nirvana.   Joseph Campbell said it best…“You must give up the life you planned to have the life that is waiting for you.”   Peace and Love Out! JBC 😎 & ❤

So chillax and breathe with this wonderful  Guided Meditation on the Body, Space, and Awareness with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche

© Copyright  2011-2014 by Jazzybeatchick/JazZenista/Jannat Marie. All rights reserved.

This material is has been copyrighted,  feel free to share it with others; it can be distributed via social media or pingbacks and added to websites; please do not change the content, provide credit by including the author’s name @ http://jazzybeatchick.com and your readers shall not be charged by you under any circumstance.

2 thoughts on “WordPlay Wednesday ~ Letting go thru the Fog of Cancer featuring John Coltrane – Serenity & A Guided Meditation on the Body, Space, and Awareness with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche

Comments are closed.