Poet’s Beat ~ “unfinished poem” by Carol Bergé accompanied by Kyle Eastwood’s “Summer Gone”

Modern-abstract-painted-porch-decoration-
Modern-abstract-painted-porch-decoration-

I have been hard at work writing the memoir.  When I begin to feel overwhelmed, I take a Mindful Awareness check to allow the fleeting negative self talk that rudely drops in the second I think I am swinging into full rhythm.   This can take a few minutes to a half an hour.  I get my sketch pad out and conjure up images that are flowing through my soul.  It has become a part of the process.  It is because I love writing more than my hating the blank page.  In high school when I was playing on the tennis team, I read a book by Timothy Gallway entitled Inner Tennis it changed my life.  It seems as though Jazz and mindful awareness also referred to as Mindfulness has moved my life away from entropy to a more “being” state with a smile inside/out.Peace Out!  JBC 😎

 

 

unfinished poem

by Carol Bergé

 

to go out
to the world
this time dressed as a
japanese printmaker,
not the eye of
epicanthus, but
yes,
perspective
as that of an island:
out, out into a world,
to find it earth! and
more simple, complex
than it seemed:
reducible
to a few lines with
shadings, the wood
to its grain
rather than to the
external form.
what
part of earth are you!
and after that, to
go out,
perhaps dressed as a
haida shaman,
finding it
all ocean! and
strewn with cowry: lines
across sand.
once,
the land bridged.
let it
be an earth color:
orange of hematite or
dark as vital loam
where rivers are,
or blue
of roots from
the parched mesas,
saved
distillate of rain
toward one hand.
but always
as this rug:
woven
of wool from a real sheep,
alive, shorn with shears
and dyed
perhaps with berries
until brilliant, or
left so:
the soft natural.
but always
fashioned with
eyes, with hands,
as friends’ faces, worn or
young: with the
nature of it
evident,
brought
out.
Japanese translation for meaning

Copyright 2011-2014  by Jannat Marie/Jazzybeatchick. All rights Reserved.

This material has been copyrighted, feel free to share it with others; it can be distributed via social media or pingbacks or added to websites; please do not change the original content and please provide appropriate credit by including the author’s name or visual artist @ http://jazzybeatchick.com your readers shall not be charged by you under any circumstance.