Jazz Bytes ~ Creole-Style Vegan Jambalaya with Nina Simone- “How it Feels to be Free”… as the Main Course.

Nothing says freedom like a nice hearty plate of soul fueled Jambalaya.  Bon Appétit!

Vegan Jambalaya
Vegan Jambalaya

Servings:  12 hungry folks.

In the Mix:

1/2 cup olive oil
2 cups yellow onions minced
1 cup red onion, minced
1 cup bell pepper, minced

¼ cup Serrano peppers if you dare
1 cup celery, minced
2 cups eggplants, minced
1 cup yellow squash, diced
1 cup zucchini, diced
1 tablespoon garlic, minced
2 tablespoons shallots, rough chopped
3 cups tomatoes, chopped (I  lg. can  Hunt’s brand)
salt & freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1/2-1 teaspoon cayenne pepper, to taste
2 teaspoons creole seasoning, to taste

1-2 Tbs. Nutritional Yeast (I like Bragg’s Premium Nutritional Yeast Seasoning)

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme (I use fresh)
3 bay leaves
2 cups long grain rice (I prefer Brown Basmati rice cups raw * I soak rice for one hour)
1 cup tomato paste
5 cups vegetable stock

For Garnish 1 cup green onion, and chives chopped

Putting it all together:
♪      Heat the oil in a large heavy pot or Dutch oven over medium heat.

♪      Sauté the onions, shallots, celery, bell peppers and garlic until tender, about 5 minutes.

♪      Add the eggplant, squash, and zucchini, and sauté until they’re tender, about other 5 minutes or so

♪      Add the tomatoes.

♪      Season with Nutritional Yeast, Creole seasoning, and additional cayenne, if you like.

♪      Add the bay leaves.

♪      Add the rice and stir for 2 to 3 minutes.

♪      Heat the tomato paste in a non-stick pan and stir, making sure it doesn’t stick or burn, until the sugars in the paste begin to caramelize, and the paste begins to turn a deep mahogany color.

♪      Deglaze with some of the vegetable stock, stir and combine thoroughly.

♪      Add the tomato paste to the rest of the vegetable stock and stir until well-blended.

♪      Add the vegetable stock/tomato mixture to vegetables, stir and cover.

♪      Cook for 45 to 50 minutes, or until the rice is tender and the liquid is absorbed.

♪      Do not stir the jambalaya while it’s cooking.

♪      Remove from heat and let stand for 2-3 minutes.

♪      Add the green onions and mix thoroughly.

Garnish with some fresh long chives, and green onions (scallions) chopped finely

Serve with a salad and beverage of your choice.

Since my bouts with the complications of Breast Cancer – lymphedema in my chest wall, I have changed my eating style to mostly Vegan because the food makes me feel lighter and healthier.  I can’t give up the seafood though, but it is only on special occasions when I don’t want to scare my company off.  Peace Out!  😎

__________

Copyright © 2014 by Jazzybeatchick. All rights reserved.

This material has been copyrighted,  feel free to share it with others; it can be distributed via social media or pingbacks or added to websites; please do not change the original content and, provide appropriate credit by including the author’s name @ http://jazzybeatchick.com and your readers shall not be charged by you under any circumstance.

13 thoughts on “Jazz Bytes ~ Creole-Style Vegan Jambalaya with Nina Simone- “How it Feels to be Free”… as the Main Course.

    1. That’s awesome. I am going to do a special series on Jazzwomen featuring past and present divas and how they broke the sound barrier and insuperable chauvinism. Have a great day, Peace Out! JBC 😎

      Like

  1. Good Lawd…I fell in Love with this song before I even heard her sing…I can’t wait until tomorrow when my internet gets restored so I can pull my Pandora up and listen to NOTHING but the jazz station and yeah, ill be trying the recipe too 🙂

    Like

  2. This sounds yummy. I didn’t know what nutritional yeast was so I looked it up. I’m not a vegan but the mention that using a tiny bit of it is a flavor enhancer, I’m all for trying it. Good idea?

    Like

Comments are closed.