Poet’s Beat ~ “i live in music” by Ntozange Shange

Alvin Ailey Dance-Wade in the Water from “Revelations

i live in music

is this where you live?

i live here in music

i live on c# street

my friend lives on b-flat avenue

do you live here in music

sound

falls round me like rain on other folks

saxophones wet my face

cold as winter in st. louis

hot like peppers i rub on my lips

thinkin they waz lilies

i got 15 trumpets where other women got hips

& a upright bass for both sides of my heart

i walk round in a piano like somebody

else be walkin on the earth

i live in music

live in it

wash in it

i cd even smell it

wear sound on my fingers

sound falls so fulla music

ya cd make a river where yr arm is &

hold yrself

hold yrself in a music

_________________________________________

Copyright © 2014 by Jazzybeatchick. All rights reserved.

This material has been copyrighted,  feel free to share it with others; it can be distributed via social media or pingbacks or added to websites; please do not change the original content and, provide appropriate credit by including the author’s name @ http://jazzybeatchick.com and your readers shall not be charged by you under any circumstance.

13 thoughts on “Poet’s Beat ~ “i live in music” by Ntozange Shange

  1. Wow. They are mesmerizing as always! Beautiful, black, strong and graceful. I love watching them in all there glory. I haven’t seen them in years but this video just gave me a insatiable yearning to see some Alvin Ailey live. Thanks so much for sharing JazzyBeatchick.

    LaTrice

    Like

    1. That is so awesome. I remember going to see the Harlem School of Dance and meeting Judith after the performance. I saw For Colored Girls on B’way that same year. Synchronicity, go to be, JBC 😎

      Like

Comments are closed.