RiffShots of “Inside a Creative Mind”

“To live a creative life, we must lose our fear of being wrong”.  Joseph Chilton Pearce

Creativity and imagination are gifts from God and the universe when we are born.  It needs to be nurtured and cultivated.  It is a stream of thoughts that comes to mind giving perspective and the ability to transform your life.  It is stimulated by circumstance and necessity.  Developing and growing out of our soul’s understanding of our truths, and staying in a constant state of “now” is what Ernest Holmes in This Thing Called You describes as the eternal mandate of nature. Be constructive or become frustrated is an equal demand. You cannot escape the conclusion that whatever this thing is which is seeking expression through everything, it can find satisfactory outlet only through constructive and life-giving creativeness.  So whether your gift is music, poetry, art, writing, blogging, photography it is something you have to do.  I am not sure whether we actually pick our gift of creativity or it is something we are born with.  It is our responsibility to find what our gift is and to share it with others.  We must answer that call and power to do good in this world.  We make choices every moment of our daily lives, some conscious some unconscious because we are following our own path no matter where it leads us.  We are not perfect.  Our culture needs us to make choices that will right the wrongs or injustices in society because we were put here to live together and in harmony.  Self expression is the highest pursuit of love.  For me living in a state of wonder or capturing Aha! moments that takes us out of proscribed comfort zones creating an environment of intellectual sensibilities that make us laugh, feel a deep sense of purpose and is expansive in scope and imagination.  It promotes wellness and heals us to change daily life from existing to a fully engaged and connected style of living that we take ownership and responsibility for. I realized that living a creative life requires allowing myself to be vulnerable and open to rejection. Shutting down, being lulled into a state of inertia and fearing rejection for being my true self has been my choice in the past. But there isn’t any truth to those thoughts and feelings. The miracle is that I am creating a reality of letting go of old thoughts and beliefs that don’t serve me and spreading my wings to take flight. I am not my cancer, heck, I am not even the chick I was yesterday What about you?  Are you up for the challenge?  Are you willing to lean into your life and become the person you truly are?  I see it in the awesome blogs I follow, do you?

 Bill Evans – The Creative Process and Self-Teaching

This is how my dad taught me about jazz life and cultivating self-expression.  In this short video:  Bill talks about how to deal with obstacles, and how to build one’s vocabulary step-by-step.

Copyright © 2013 by Jazzybeatchick. All rights reserved.

This material has been copyrighted,  feel free to share it with others; it can be distributed via social media or pingbacks or added to websites; please do not change the original content and, provide appropriate credit by including the author’s name @ http://jazzybeatchick.com and your readers shall not be charged by you under any circumstance.

21 thoughts on “RiffShots of “Inside a Creative Mind”

  1. This is a great lesson from Bill Evans that goes beyond music. If we apply this as a consistent active way of thinking our understanding of higher level concepts will be solidified because every layer that each concept is built on will have been properly grasped first. Otherwise, as Evans said, we end up trying to build on confusion. Thanks for sharing this video!

    Like

  2. I agree – living a creative life does leave you vulnerable as you express and share your inner-most emotions and thoughts…like a child reaching out to an adult for an embrace. Sometimes the embrace is comforting and supportive; sometimes the embrace is harsh and short; sometimes the embrace doesn’t happen at all… but we must continue to “reach” in order to grow 🙂

    Like

    1. Beautifully said! WOW! When we don’t even give a mental embrace to ourselves saying that we are loved and wonderul we miss out on those vulnerable moments because we looked outside of ourselves. I always envision that God is hugging and embracing me and that is more than enough! Thanks for sharing, JBC 😛

      Like

    1. Absolutely! That’s why I try to see things from that perspective it has served me well. My pastor plays the saxophone and he teaches sax and jazz to his students. Take care! JBC

      Like

  3. Great post. Reminds me of this quote from Isaac Asimov: “I made up my mind long ago to follow one cardinal rule in all my writing—to be clear. I have given up all thought of writing poetically or symbolically or experimentally, or in any of the other modes that might (if I were good enough) get me a Pulitzer prize. I would write merely clearly and in this way establish a warm relationship between myself and my readers, and the professional critics—Well, they can do whatever they wish.”

    Like

  4. Boy, does Bill nail it here or what! In creative pursuits, nothing is more important than “keeping it real.” When we take things in small bites and learn how the individual pieces fit into the larger scheme of things, we can build on what we know and eventually express ourselves with greater complexity.

    Love the clip. I’ve never heard Bill speaking at length before, and it’s great to hear how thoughtful he is. (Though you can guess as much from his music!)

    Like

    1. You are so right! Since the creation of my blog, I have discovered this acoustic memory of thoughts, some abstract and some just plain ole common sense that have transformed my daily life. Is it possible to have auditory dreams? Thanks for your insight, Best wishes, JBC 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.