Jazz as My Teacher~ A Love Supreme by Jazzybeatchick

Dear Dad,

Thank you and mom for giving me life.  God gave me all the rest.  Here’s what I have learned from my greatest teachers….  The journey began from my heart and continues to search for the life that is waiting for me.

I.

Learned that timing is critical in jazz as in life,

Knowing when to stop, start, step it up, slow it down

And more so,  and

oh so important is to learn how to wait thru the strife.

Jazz harmony is the theory and practice of changing chords,

where major and minor scales share the same space in a timeless bond…

progressions depart in thirds and stacked fourths

favoring harmonic progressions where tensions in intervals of 9th , 11th, or 13th abound.

II.

Learned about the search for meaning, intentions and having the blues

Finding your truth and appreciating a life of humility

‘cause the universe is misting the air with valuable clues

now you have the essence of a universal tranquility.

Notes are just window dressing a façade you create

listen to the spoken word filled with meaning

of the path and choices you debate

Play it slant is the message best heard in the evening.

Learned that being different is the integral part of the plan

pressing forward seeing how far you can reach

harmonies in real-time, flowing and ebbing broadening the span

of improvisational context is what matters in all you teach .

III.

Learned that playing jazz has four elements

broadening your words and expressing every letter

in a charismatic way to enhance

finding your intentions and mixing all together

where freedom and coordination can really dance.

Jazz has the power to go deep within,

having a relationship with you as next of kin

Surpassing arrogance into a love of sound and words

sharing that experience with others like the legends you’ve heard.

 IV.

if you truly want to be a writer,

you will have to sacrifice your life

 that words and jazz are the loves of your life. 

It is a choice that you cannot shake. 

It brings happiness, patience, love and peace.

You are miserable and tortured if you don’t write.

Self-expression is overrated when it comes to

the ‘hour of the wolf’

 when it seems that the words are discordant and fretful. 

The trick is they are your children

 be humble and allow them the love and respect that you claim for yourself. 

 I was very fortunate to have met your mother, she gave me you and your brother. 

So I did not have to make that choice alone. 

So your family is words and jazz replete with lessons on life,

discernment and discovering who you are,

who you’ve been and most of all be grateful

to God for the talent to write.  

Write your heart out, share your soul.

That is what happens to me when I am writing a song. 

The notes are my children too.  I know you think that I made your life difficult,

but  you will realize some day that when you look back

it is the fuel you’ll need to be who you are.

That’s your story. 

V.

Learned that I was saved by jazz

healing my soul and my body from

life’s trials and tribulations

Finding peace on earth filled with

joyous jubilation!

I am waiting and discovering a life filled with wonder and love…

I am definitely on the right wake…

A Love Supreme,

JBC

Seattle , Washington

December 25th, 2005

Copyright © 2013 by Jazzybeatchick. All rights reserved.

This material is has been copyrighted,  feel free to share it with others; it can be distributed via social media or pingbacks and added to websites; please do not change for reading the content, provide appropriate credit by including the author’s name @ http://jazzybeatchick.com and your readers shall not be charged by you under any circumstance.

6 thoughts on “Jazz as My Teacher~ A Love Supreme by Jazzybeatchick

    1. Isn’t it wonderful that music and words are portals to our universal souls and on a journey through the cocoon that releases and frees us. Thanks for your follow as well, I look forward to following your blog as well. In Joy & Light, JBC

      Like

Comments are closed.