Marian McPartland ~The First Lady of Jazz

This is a tribute to Marian for being 1st a Musician and Second who happens to be a woman.  She will be dearly missed in the Jazz World.  I was very lucky when dad took us to the Blue Note Nightclub  in New York City in 1970 to hear Ms. McPartland perform on the piano.  This was such a rarity to see women musicians at the helm.  Coincidentally, the chauvinism in jazz mirrored my last year of high school when I wanted to join the tennis team and the coach told me “You can’t be on the team because we don’t have showers and facilities for girls.”  Title IX became my banner cause for my last year of high school and my first year at Rutgers University.  We won in more ways than one!

2 thoughts on “Marian McPartland ~The First Lady of Jazz

Comments are closed.